Happy New Year!

First off, Happy New Year! I hope that everyone had a safe and wonderful holiday season and that you all have a blessed new year to come!

Now, on to something that has been weighing on me. I have been going through my older pictures and scrapbooking our lives. I came across the birth of both of my children and realized something. The pictures from their births, while I will always cherish them, are nothing short of terrible. I’m not saying my hubby is a bad photographer or anything like that but when you are in a room where a lot is going on, you don’t concentrate on settings on the camera or whether you have framed the shot! I have little usable images from both of my kids birth-days and what saddens me absolutely none of the hubs and I enjoying the first meeting with our little man!

With my daughter we were looking at a quick birth (after 30 days of intense labor and lots of drugs to stop the preterm labor) and a lot going on in my delivery room. I got lucky and had all the new students doing their experience rounds on me! With all the people and commotion my husband barely remembered to pick up the camera! We only had a few visitors and by the time we were settled with her they were gone and we were so exhausted and didn’t even pick up the camera until just before we checked out!

20120101-190304.jpg

Those, sadly are the only usable pictures from Gracyn’s birth-day.

It was a whole new ball game with my son! We were scheduled for an induction and you would think we would be prepared….we were not! This time there was an almost 5 year old to deal with in the room. She was cranky to say the least! Add on top of that the many visitors my hospital allowed in before I actually gave birth, the contractions that did nothing but make my tailbone feel like it was coming out of my back and a doctor that was way to bubbly for my liking and let’s just say the whole first half of my pictures aren’t even of me, the hubs or Gracyn!! Once it was time though, there was even more going on. The boy was huge and got stuck and then we thought he wasn’t breathing as he was beyond purple. Turned out he crashed into my pelvic bone and had a bruised face. Again the only images I have are what you will see below on top of a TON of blurry ones.

20120101-191242.jpg

We had a lot to go through after he was born, due to his size and the bruising, jaundice set in quick. He had to have heel sticks every 2 to 3 hours because of his size to check his sugar. He had to be force fed every hour. I was tired and so was hubby and kidlet #1! There are no pictures of me or the hubby holding him!

Why am I telling you all of this? I would love to help you make one of the most important days of your life one of the most memorable! You will have a lot more than you can ever imagine going on and you will need someone to help you document that. I didn’t have that and I think every paren should be able to look back and say, “Wow! How awesome is it that you can see the complete raw emotion of the moment!!” I can’t say that and I want to offer that to you!

If you are interested in a birth photographer, please contact me using the link above and I will get back with to answer any questions you might have on how it works, pricing quotes and other questions you might have!

Enjoy your new year and stay safe!!

Leave a Reply

