I’m No Beauty Queen, I’m Just Beautiful Me!

So anyone who truly knows me, knows that I struggle every single day with my self esteem. Growing up I was never told I was pretty, beautiful or even cute. I was always surrounded by people I envied because I know they heard it at least once a day. It was something I craved. No one should feel the way I did growing up. I never had that girl power encouragement and it’s time to get it and pass it on!

The other day I posted about being frustrated with how my daughter was treated by a girl who was older than her…and thus this project was born. Say hello to phase one! I really hope you will join in whether you are a pro photographer, a mom with a camera or just a girl with a point and shoot!

Phase 1
Read the lyrics of this song and pick a section that jumps out at you. Try to capture the essence of the line.

Once you have chose your line and photographed it (feel free to photoshop it with actions or your basic editing skills, if you would like I can do this for you)please email it to me at sweetemotionsphotography@yahoo.com with the subject line Beautiful Me Project. Attach your photo and let me know what line from the song you have used for inspiration. Don’t forget to add your name and if your are a pro, please add your studio name so that I can give credit at the end of the video.

Who Says by Selena Gomez
Wouldn’t want to be anybody else…
You made me insecure, told me I wasn’t good enough
But who are you to judge when you’re a diamond in the rough
I’m sure you’ve got some things you’d like to change about yourself
But when it comes to me I wouldn’t want to be anybody else

I’m no beauty queen, I’m just beautiful me
You’ve got every right to a beautiful life

Who says
Who says you’re not perfect
Who says you’re not worth it
Who says you’re the only one that’s hurting
Trust me thats the price of beauty
Who says you’re not pretty
Who says you’re not beautiful
Who says?

It’s such a funny thing how nothings funny when it’s you
You tell em what you mean but they keep whiting out the truth
It’s like a work of art that never gets to see the light
Keep you beneath the stars won’t let you touch the sky

I’m no beauty queen, I’m just beautiful me
You’ve got every right to a beautiful life

Who says
Who says you’re not perfect
Who says you’re not worth it
Who says you’re the only one that’s hurting
Trust me thats the price of beauty
Who says you’re not pretty
Who says you’re not beautiful
Who says?

Who says you’re no star potential
Who says you’re not presidential
Who says you can’t be in movies
Listen to me, listen to me
Who says you can’t be the best
Who said, who said
Won’t you tell me who said that?!

I’m no beauty queen, I’m just beautiful me
You’ve got every right to a beautiful life

Who says
Who says you’re not perfect
Who says you’re not worth it
Who says you’re the only one that’s hurting
Trust me thats the price of beauty
Who says you’re not pretty
Who says you’re not beautiful
Who says?

I chose the line “keep you beneath the stars won’t let you touch the sky” and this is how I interpreted it for the challenge.

I am going to give this a couple of weeks to circulate and get phase 2 going here in a few days. Remember, we need to change our attitude and what and how we teach our children. So spread the word! Let’s make everyone feel loved and worth it even when they may think they aren’t!

5 thoughts on “I’m No Beauty Queen, I’m Just Beautiful Me!

  1. When do you plan on ending Phase I? Curious if I’ll be able to get a photo done in time, my daughter is up north. lol

  2. When do you plan on ending Phase I? Curious if I’ll be able to get a photo done in time, my daughter is up north. lol

    • Rhi says:

      I am thinking phase one will probably end at the end of August as well phase two…which I will get going tomorrow night! It’s been super crazy around my house and collecting my thoughts has been a nightmare! I hope you can participate in both phases!!

  3. Whoops, sorry for the double post! LOL End of August is perfect, my kids come home from grandma’s at the end of July. 😀

Leave a Reply

